ArcelorMittal South Africa is the main sponsor of the ArcelorMittal Science Centres.

A memorandum of understanding provides for a steering committee to act as advisory body for the ArcelorMittal Science Centres. This Committee consists of representatives from ArcelorMittal South Africa, Government Department of Education, Western Cape Education Department, Department of Education in KwaZulu-Natal, Vesco Community Enterprise (VCE).

The Department of Education assists with logistics and scheduling as well as content according to the Department of Education’s curriculum.  The Department of Science and Technology are also the role players assisting the Centres with annual programmatic support, human capital through the NYS initiative as well as support for the annual events such as the National Science Week and other programmes through the South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA).